Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Newsletter
04-02-2011, 09:29 AM
Newsletter
Hello ~ I am interested in developing a newsletter through Ixact. Something with blocks and columns for different topics. The IC tech tells me it is possible, but they have no templates yet. You can either use HTML or tables.
I am not tech savvy in this area and am concerned I will spend a ridiculous amount of time trying (and avoiding other tasks...).

When I asked a friend experienced in this area, (willing to pay for her service), she told me I'd be better off just buying another contact system like Constant Contact for newsletters. I'd love to have everything in one place and am hoping this will happen on IC. And it seems silly to pay for another service when this may be possible on IC. Anyone been playing with this and have ideas?

SWSnBuffalo
04-02-2011, 09:37 AM
Re: Newsletter
OOOH OOOH OOOH, me, me me! I have thoughts!

First, I'm not a big fan of fancy newsletters, for several reasons. Unless you are a graphics designer, it's likely to look amateurish, even if you do use a newsletter-specific program like Constant Contact. I've seen some CC newsletters that are pretty good, and I think the one I do for my Referral Network is okay, but it took me awhile to get there - and my early newsletters looked awful. Do you really want to spend the time on design rather than content?

Second, fancy newsletters do nothing to inspire conversations, which to my way of thinking are the whole reason to DO a newsletter. The fancier, the less likely anyone is going to respond, so the less likely you are to create interaction with your audience. Simple newsletters - better called mass emails - do a far better job opening the door to communication than newsletters do.