Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Hello From Loudoun County Virginia!
03-30-2014, 07:04 AM
Hello From Loudoun County Virginia!
Hello everyone,

I am a soon to be agent in the D.C. Metro area. My classes are finished, the exams have been passed and I am currently interviewing with brokers. I have had one interview already and lined up three more tomorrow. But I am unable to leave my job as a high school English teacher until mid-June, but hope to be able to at least spend the time in between learning my systems and contracts so I can be ready (a bit more at least) by mid-June.

Jennifer I have already read your books Sell With Soul and Prospect With Soul, and yesterday I ordered If You're Not Having Fun...I am so excited to read it!

In my efforts to make sure a career in real estate was for me I tried to get as much information on it as possible. Last summer I interned with a Top producer- which was not what I had hoped. She gave me paper work and errands to run, I never saw her and she taught my very little, BUT I still learned a few things, though small. I read many books including...
--21 Things I Wish my Broker had Told Me (ok but kind of depressing, negative -thus the title I guess),
---Your First Year in Real Estate For Dummies (some good stuff but the scripts and the cold calling made me want to vomit)
--Your Successful Career in Real Estate (not bad but for beginners and people who haven't worked or used technology in decades
--And thankfully JAH's Soul books I read FIRST or I don't know that I would be on this path! I always thought I would like RE, but I can't be a pushy sales person, but I CAN be persuasive and I do truly care about helping people (thus 9 years teaching).

I also read this forum often. I wish I was home to catch the webinars though. Soon, soon!