Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
asking friends for referrals--yuck!
11-07-2009, 12:13 PM
asking friends for referrals--yuck!
Ok, as I mentioned in the previous post, I'm new to this and have never, ever been a good at sales.  Anyway...

I'm taking this coaching class at my new office (it's required).  I won't mention who it's through, but he recommends sending your soi an item of value every month, calling them every month and asking for a referral, and then dropping by their house every month, which would lead to you asking for a referral--yet again!  There's no way in h*** I'm going to do this!!  If one of my friends did this to me, I'd be ticked off big time, and would NEVER refer them just because I'd be annoyed!  I actually asked one of my husband's friends the other night that if he didn't have a real estate agent that he refers to people then I'd like to be that agent, and his response was basically, "yeah, yeah, I know you're an agent, not leave me alone."  Never again.  I was sick to my stomach after doing it.  I'll let people know I'm an agent, simply by telling them about my week when we're out hiking or biking together or having coffee together.  Hopefully they'll refer me because they like me and know that I'll take good care of their friends.  Ahhh...thanks for letting me "vent"!  Any thoughts to this?  Does anyone else feel sick to their stomach at the thought of soliciting (which is what it really turns out to be)? 
11-07-2009, 12:41 PM
Re: asking friends for referrals--yuck!
Hey Bean,

Apparently there's a problem with the forum so I'm the only one (?) who can post... so if you're not getting responses, it's not for lack of interest!!!

I need to figure this out, but I shall return.. and WELCOME! I already love your attitude...

J

"The Secret of Joy in work is one word - excellence. To know how to do something well is to enjoy it." Pearl S. Buck
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-07-2009, 04:51 PM